My experience, expectations and challenges been a computer science student at the University of Makeni

·

2 min read

My name is Mohamed Gassimu Bah, I am a third year (3rd) student studying Computer Science at the university of Makeni, Northern Region Sierra Leone. The aspect of Information Technology (IT) plays a major role towards our daily lives and so there is high demand for computing professionals in the work force all over the world. The world we are living presently is Technology based and it does prioritizes it concept of daily technological activities.

My EXPERIENCE of been a computer science student at the University of Makeni has taught me a whole lot about technology, it benefits and how to gain insight on my capabilities to actualize my ambitions. It helped me to learn new things about technology, the techniques and how to adapt and work with the required skills. The experience has taught me how to live and solve daily problems, how to handle situations as per requirement and take responsibility to build my own career path in the field of computer science.

My EXPECTATIONS for the department of computer science at the University of Makeni is high because i'm expecting to learn skills that are known to the field of IT. Most courses in computer science have academic work that students are expected to complete for the academic year and this include assignments, lab projects, test and exams and so I am expecting all these as part of our curriculum for this year and I'm expecting to learn the precision skills of the required technology that will be provided by the lecturers.

The Challenges at the University of Makeni are enormous but with time I believe the sky will definitely be the limit for us all as students of this department if everyone is committed for it to have a suitable and comfortable environment. I pray and hope that this noble department will improve it current facilities like structured and well equipped lab with standard computers for student to study and work on, strong and uninterrupted internet facility and most important of all enough class rooms for a proper learning environment.